Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

By Royal Appointment

It's the day of The Queen's funeral.

I like to think of her tucking into a nice smelly Époisses with some seasonal redcurrants.

When I walked passed Paxon and Whitfield, The Queen's cheesemonger, on the 9th of September their window display was empty.

I stopped for a chat with a chap who was cleaning the window and asked "why no picture of The Queen", after all the shop has a Royal Warrant from her.

He explained his quandary: the shop has two Royal warrants to supply cheese, one from The Queen and the other from (the former) Prince Charles. So what do they put in the window?

I pointed out that Charles becomes King the moment The Queen passes, so it would be appropriate to mark both occasions. 

Both Fortnum and Masons and Hatchards had got around the quandary by blacking out their windows. 

I didn't go back to find out what they had done, I just enjoyed the cheese.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.