Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Blip

By alfthomas

Today is the Day

OK, so, I am probably going to offend many people today. Where I grew up in Cornwall there is a tradition that on the day of someone's funeral one says what one thinks. Oh, there are always the hypocrites who would say 'he was the salt of the earth' when in reality they could never stand him. So, if you are a monarchist, or are easily offended I suggest that you STOP READING NOW.

Ok, here goes, you have been warned.

The last few days has really made me think about my life, and the country I grew up in, only because of the accident of birth. The Queen has died, and with that event so should the whole idea of monarchy which I was always brought up, by my parents, to defer to and respect - those ideas didn't survive long into my teenage years, my grandparents saw to that. Don't get me wrong I have/had a great deal of respect for the Queen who did her part when needed during WW2, I just don't have any respect for the idea of monarchy. For me there are two words that spring to mind when  monarchy is mentioned, anathema and outmoded. Particularly in the UK monarchy is all bound up with the idea of Empire, especially when one looks at institutions like 'The Commonwealth'. There is a very distinct ignorance of Britain's history among the masses, it has simply been airbrushed by a privileged elite who don't want us to know the truth. This privileged elite want us to believe that we ruled the Empire benevolently - which we did, at the point of a gun. When actually what they should be saying to us, and the former colonies, is something like 'look at what we did for you, we did all of the murdering, raping and pillaging in order that you didn't have to'. This is the end of an era, and we should be pressing Alt+Ctrl+Del and doing a reboot of the system.

Let me address another word that springs to mind when I think of monarchy - inequality. Even with the wealth of the reigning monarch the taxpayer stumps up for the bulk of its cost, not to mention all of the hangers on. Not only that but the 'business' has constantly interfered in legislation to ensure that they get exemptions. Back to taxes. It seems that Charlie Boy will not be paying any inheritance tax on the billions he will inherit, and this while elderly people going into care are forced to sell their houses to pay for said care - thus ensuring that they have nothing to leave their children. So, Charlie Boy is now King, the epitome of a privileged elite, the epitome of one who has never done a proper day's work in his life, one who has had everything handed to him on a plate. Spike Milligan got it dead right when her referred to him as a 'little grovelling bastard'. Charles has continually lobbied government, and I can see no way that he will stop 'having his say', when actually he should be being consigned to history along with the rancid institution of monarchy - it has no place in the modern world.

Of course if I was shouting this in public today I would probably be beaten up, arrested and thrown into a cell to await my appointment with a magistrate. So much for the idea of freedom of speech/expression - only saying.

This is merely a precis of my thoughts, it could easily have stretched to 10,000 words, and more, but I didn't want to bore you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.