La vida de Annie

By Annie

El funeral de la reina Isabel II.

I spent the majority of the day watching the funeral processions of the Queen, with all its intricately choreographed pageantry. I watched for hours with dispassionate interest, aware of a historical event which I felt compelled to witness. I’m no royalist, but feel that the Queen was a very special human being, the like of which we’re unlikely to see again. I watched dry-eyed until I saw the corgis watching their mistress on her last journey, and Emma, her shetland pony also bearing witness. The lone piper and the King’s face as he laid the royal emblem on the coffin finished me off. I’m totally wiped now, so how exhausted must be those who took part in this day in person? Rest in peace, dear lady.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.