Lights out!

Tonight the city is darker than I’ve ever seen it, and for a great reason. This is peak season for migrating birds, and the Audubon Society has created a “Lights Out” movement to cut down on light pollution so the birds can find their way by the stars. Stunning graphics here.

I watched highlights of the funeral, which was dazzling in its perfections. I thought of the thousands of people who rehearsed, practiced their music, drilled, sewed, ironed, polished, oiled, lifted weights, fluffed and patted their hats, shone jewels, decided who to invite and where to put them, bundled flowers, and scrubbed every last paving stone so that this astonishing spectacle might take place. 

I worried about the people of Japan and Puerto Rico, reaping whirlwinds. And I got my new knee brace, which is changing my life. Imagine walking without knee pain! I almost can’t imagine it, but here it is. Day one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.