Ambulance Ride

During the night I started feeling quite unwell. This continued into the day and I could tell I was developing a temperature. I learned later it was about 39º.

By the early evening we asked the hotel to call an ambulance. They were somewhat reluctant at first but agreed to do so in the end. When the paramedics arrived they said I needed to be hospitalised and would not be returning to the hotel that day.

I was stretchered through reception which must have looked a little dramatic, and onto an ambulance. My first ever trip in an ambulance!

I had already been put on a drip in the ambulance. Arriving at the hospital I was attached to a couple more tubes. I was kept in the admissions area for about four hours while I was given a couple more drips and poked and had needles stuck in me while being examined by about four doctors. After some discussion about whether I could go to a ward or ICU I was transferred to a ward at about 1 am. Totally exhausted I fell asleep almost as soon as I was in bed.

The prognosis was a stay of at least four nights to recover while on antibiotic drips.

Cosmo sent me a picture to wish me a speedy recovery

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.