Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sip

sip
a sweet drop
of dandelion wine
a toast
to spring


It warmed by another couple of degrees today, enough to convince everyone to shed a layer or two.

The Small Tortoiseshells have spread around campus - over the past few days they've been concentrated in one spot, but today they were in all corners. More excitingly I bumped into a Brimstone and later an Orange-tip, both firsts for the year, but they were just flying through. I still haven't managed a single photograph of an Orange-tip - whenever I meet them they seem constantly in flight - that's one of my butterfly blip challenges for this spring. Finally, when I reached home at 6.30, there was a single Peacock sunning itself on the moor path. It seems this weather will keep up over the Bank Holiday weekend, so hopefully (for me) there will be more butterfly blips to come.

And we have a new furry member of the family; I'll introduce you to her tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.