Tuesday

We went to the funeral of a wonderful man today. He is also the father in law of "Charente".

A challenging morning for Charente as both her husband and his sister tested positive for covid today. They had to sit outside during the funeral and they were unable to attend the wake. 

When Clive and I arrived at the crematorium, we spent some time watching a young clergyman in something of a panic. We think he was at the wrong address or had the wrong day. He made numerous calls, run in and out of the crem and eventually jumped into his car and left at speed! 

For a while  we worried he was our cleric so were very much relieved to see that our friend, Gary Gotham , was our celebrant and we'd be in good hands.

It was such a shame not to be able to hug Charente and to not have a good catch up.

Two people at the wake remembered my dad. He was a character! Poor mum, very much in his shadow!

Back to Leonard. The last song played was "It's a Wonderful World". We often sang this when I ran the afternoon singing sessions at the club.   For me, a real tearjerker and I shall now think of Leonard everytime I hear it. He was very much loved. A lovely, smiling Gentleman who lived to 101! Remarkable.

I shall never forget him.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.