Blue sky thinking

This is the run-down office block I spotted in a residential street about eight years ago. Behind it, where two houses had once fronted onto the parallel street, was a bit of rubbly ground used as a car park. I had a fantasy of getting together with others, buying the plot, persuading the plumbers and heating engineers using the building to relocate and building four carbon-neutral houses. I contacted the Land Registry and found out who owned it.

Other things happened, the plumbers and heating engineers moved out, the plot sold for a million pounds and my fantasy evaporated.

There have been several planning applications since then. I don't know what the current one is but I'll bet it isn't carbon neutral. Because even with the energy crisis and the climate catastrophe planning authorities are still not taking their responsibilities seriously.

As I stood and looked up through the vanished roof today, I just caught a glimpse of my fantasy floating away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.