Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Guilty You Honour!!

What a day it has been. This morning I met these three wonderful women who live in Bridgetown and you may have to be patient with me while I tell you why it was such an important chance meeting.

A decision to walk down to the little cafe at the caravan park to have a cup of coffee this morning turned out to be quite a wonderful one. I couldn’t help but notice these three lovely ladies sitting having a coffee and my eyes drifted to the very scrumptious looking scones in the cake tin. I couldn’t help myself and called out to them, “I bet they’re not as good as a my Date and Lemon Scones” :) Well we got chatting as you do and I was delighted when Bernie, that’s Bernie on the left of screen, asked me if I would like one. Well you know me, I could never pass up a scone, particularly when it’s topped with award winning CWA Fig Jam!! It turned out that they (the ladies and the scones) were from Bridgetown a town famous for it’s wonderful apples.

Now this is when I had a light bulb moment and I thought to myself, “I’ve waited 64 years to unload this terrible guilt I have carried around regarding apples in Bridgetown, this might be the right time to rid myself of the burden.
Of course Bernie, Peggy and Rosemarie were all ears when I started to relate my story.

THE EXPORT APPLE SCANDAL - EASTER 1958 DURING THE ANNUAL BRIDGETOWN TENNIS TOURNAMENT
Mum and Dad had taken us to Bridgetown for the Easter Weekend and were playing in the annual tennis tournament. I hear today that it’s still a regular event and is now famous for it’s Mulberry Pies (but that’s a story for another day). Big Al and I decided to wander down to the town and called in at the big Apple Packing Shed. I can’t remember quite how this happened but before we knew it Al and I started handing out apples to the other people who were inspecting the facility. I think from memory we must have handed out at least a couple of boxes before we were politely told that we were in fact handing out their highest grade export variety!! Well we fled that shed and ran as fast as we could back to the tennis club. We didn’t even have time to hand an apple out to ourselves we were that terrified. Imagine our horror when we later heard one of the tennis players relating the news that their were two children who were told off for passing out the export apples. I’m not sure if we ever confessed to Mum and Dad, but I’m so happy that I had the opportunity to unload on Bernie, Peggy and Rosemarie today!!

I’m not sure yet whether I will take their advice and write a piece for the Bridgetown Local Newspaper. I think it might be nice if the “Mystery of the Export Apples at the Easter Tennis Tournament in 1958” remains a mystery for evermore. I hope I can rely on these three charismatic characters from the CWA to keep my secret.

PS - I have just shared a copy of my Date and Lemon Scones recipe with them. I’m dying to see what they think :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.