Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Train travel

On a day when most of the world stayed home to watch the Queen's funeral, I proceeded with a previous plan to meet a friend in Edinburgh. It took 4 hours to get there, but I enjoyed myself- knitting, reading, thinking ( a rare opportunity)and watching the Queen's funeral on my phone while taking part in a texting conversation with my friends in Australia who were watching the same footage in real time. That is a remarkable feat of technology!

I love Glasgow Central station- on hushed quiet days like today, and in my young power-dressing commuter- girl days in my 20s. It has a life and a charm of its own. I love the way some of the decorative 'twiddles', that have no purpose apart from beautifying what was a noisy smelly environment, are still there. They were propably part of the station upgrade in 1890.
This is a corner post on some railings.
... and an obligatory screen capture as my extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.