earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Crossing the Tamar

As a kid, the one thing I remember more than anything else about our holidays to Cornwall was the train journey beyond Plymouth to Truro and then on to Falmouth. I could almost have done without the holiday in between. The train ride was by far the most exciting part, and particularly the crossing of the Tamar on Brunel's Royal Albert Bridge. It was awe-inspiring then and fifty odd years later the experience today was equally so. I was that little kid again, getting the camera out to take a photograph.

I hoped to get some writing done on the nine hour journey from Penzance to Ilkley but I spent most of the time just gazing out of the window. The previous week and weeks kind of caught up with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.