Fi

By Fi

Do Widzenia, Warszawa

It was always billed to be a bitter-sweet day. It was absolutely freezing but bloody gorgeous. I checked out of the apart-hotel and Andrzej was waiting for me in the work-van to ship me and my luggage(!) to the airport. I convinced him to go via the Aster / UPC shop, to return the router and whatnot - the only job I hadn't managed in my last few days!

And so I arrived at the airport. With a lump in my throat as I piled my bags onto a trolley - I got him to take a last photo of me with my feet on Polish soil, (as a resident) before he was beeped at by an impatient Pole, who wanted his space!

Checked in - VERY pleased with my decision to fork out the upgrade fee last week, not only to more than double my luggage allowance (cheaper to upgrade than to pay excess baggage) but to get access to the lounge, which made the flight delay all the more bearable. I quietly hoped it would go technical - it would have been a sign that I wasn't meant to leave.

I shed a few quiet tears from 3A as the plane pushed back. My time in Warsaw was up - my time overseas was up. I was heading home. For good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.