Melisseus

By Melisseus

Heat and Light

In the cafe at the organic farm shop near Cirencester, UK, they have a huge log stove with a big steel chimney rising a long way to the roof. The chimney has a wonderful patina that complements the atmosphere of roaring logs and steaming plates. I have often gazed enviously at it while working my way through their enormous salads. When we installed a stove at home, I had high hopes of something similar. Well, it took a long time - in fact several years - before the obstinate shiny surface transformed into the colourful, lived-in appearance of my dreams. It caught my eye in this morning light as I sat to transfer yesterday's beekeeping observations to an electronic record

We have not lit the stove yet this autumn - the heat of this alarming summer seems to be hanging on and on. If only we could enjoy it without worrying about why

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.