YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Newspapers

I don't buy a daily newspaper but over the years, if there has been a significant event I have bought one and kept them.  From top left they are:

The release of Nelson Mandela - February 1990.  Mr YB and I had the television on and were mending a floorboard in the living room.

The death of Diana, Princess of Wales - August 1997.  My son was six and an early riser.  We came downstairs to watch Playdays at some very early hour and switched the television on only to find out the dreadful news.  I could not comprehend it. 

William and Kate's wedding - April 2011 - I told Mr YB I was hogging the TV all day.  I think he went out to play golf.

The release of John McCarthy who was held captive in Lebanon for over five years - August 1991 - I know exactly where I was.  I was in hospital having just given birth to my son a few days previously.  I was so happy already and this was just the icing on the cake.  It seemed such a lovely hopeful time.

The start of the new Millennium - January 2000 - We spend the evening at my sister and brother-in-laws house.  My sister made a cake in the shape of the millennium dome with sparklers for the yellow pillars sticking out the top of the dome.

The Queens funeral - September 2022 - I spent most of the day at home watching the funeral.

The total eclipse of the sun - August 1999 - my son and I were in the garden with our special glasses watching it.  I remember all the birds going quiet.

The death of the Queen - September 2022 - I was at home.  I'd already heard that there were concerns for her health and a notification came up on my phone.

Can you remember where you were for any significant events?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.