Stress relief (Day 2695)

At the bathroom re-fit this morning I was just about ready when the supplier showed up to deliver the shower screen panels. Typically it was raining heavily. The panels are 8mm thick and 900mm x 2000mm and consequently heavy and awkward. When moving the second panel in the bathroom, and without it touching anything, it exploded without warning. It's one of those interesting features of toughened glass; it can just randomly shatter. When it shatters, it breaks into a bazillion tiny pieces, and today's blast radius was around nine metres. I got covered I a load of tiny little cuts, the worst of which is on my cheek. It is the second time in my plumbing career that a screen has shattered. I was lucky this time, and from now on, I will be wearing safety goggles when I am moving shower screens.
The customer was more concerned that I was bleeding than she was about the delay to her bathroom re-fit. Thankfully she has another bathroom. It took ages to clear up all of the glass before I could fit the undamaged panel, and with that done, I gave up for the day.
Home for lunch then a wander with Sigyn, and a bit of time slobbed on the couch while waiting for  my beautiful wife to return from work.
We headed to Stromness and got out a ride on George and Red, finishing with a splosh in the sea and a gallop or two on the beach.
Nothing like a ride after work to dump the stress of the week.
Added an extra of the ride, because I had difficulty choosing between the pics, and a pic of the bucket of glass bits. Shower screens are a lot easier to move around when they are in a big bucket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.