Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Parasols and Persistent Waxcaps

Today was the funeral of Queen Elizabeth. I thought long and hard about watching it on TV, but couldn't reconcile my feelings about the enormous cost of it all compared with the poverty and hardship so many UK citizens are suffering. So instead I gardened, while the world fell eerily silent.

After the Westminster Abbey service was over, I headed out to Old Sulehay - a place that always comforts my soul - and allowed myself time to just think. As a family, we'd already decided that we would have a shared meal in the evening, following a somewhat regal theme. I'd already bought venison, and as I walked through the forest I gathered crab-apples, sloes and the last blackberries to make an accompanying jelly. Apparently Her Majesty was particularly fond of game from her Royal Estates. 

I also took time to admire the first few fungi - Parasol Mushrooms growing in the fork of an old tree and Persistent Waxcaps pushing their way through the limestone soil of the old quarry - both looking rather shrivelled as the dry weather continues.

Our family evening was perfect - the locally sourced venison steaks were delicious, served with the sweet and fragrant forest fruits jelly. The Queen of Puddings was a revelation - I'd never much liked it as a child, but the version I baked included freshly made raspberry jam spread on a lemon-scented custard thickened with brioche breadcrumbs and topped with a cloud of soft meringue.

But best of all was being with family, talking about the day's events and discussing the future of the monarchy. After nine o'clock I started flagging, but Pete, Alex and Chris continued the discussion for some time longer, delving into all sorts of philosophical questions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.