Around the World and Back

By Pegdalee

Just Ducky!

"Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience that reveals the human spirit." --E.E. Cummings, American poet

I'm struggling to get over turbo-jetlag this week. So when I looked across the harbor this morning and saw a large floating yellow rubber ducky docked at the pier in Kowloon, I immediately confirmed with Chris that I was, in fact, awake!

Having lived my entire adult life in various huge international urban centers, I've obtained the hard-earned right to be jaded about ... well, just about everything. This morning's duck sighting, however, right in the center of Victoria Harbor, was an eye-opener! In fact, it was just the thing to bring me back to Blip today! After all, a picture is worth a thousand words, and there really is no good way to describe a five-story yellow bath toy floating in one of Asia's busiest harbors!

No excuses, just that we've been traveling at warp speed this year, and I've spent a great deal of time marveling at how travel bloggers do what they do in the midst of racing through airports. The camera has been busy, even while my fingers have not, and I take some solace knowing that our adventures are being documented in some way, even if they end up collecting dust on our downstairs bookshelves rather than adding to the fun here on Blip. For those of you who diligently blip every day, you have my most profound respect, and I continually aspire to return to your ranks - perhaps even this year!

In the meanwhile, I'll wrap up a rainy week here in Hong Kong by sending you this giant yellow bath toy and do hope all your weekends are, well ... just ducky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.