Further my skills

By H0tamer

Feste Dilsberg

Today my hike (16km/10mi) took me to (the area around) the castle "Feste Dilsberg". One of the gifts on latest father's day was a book with around 20 tours in the southern Hesse area. This one looked interesting.
And it was. A lot of forest, the river Neckar, a lot of views, and some very old buildings. The castle Dilsberg was one of them. It was built in the 12th century. The first and second extras show the entrance to the "city" and the place in the middle. (I didn't visit the ruin of the actual castle.)
The tour went from Neckargemünd along the left side of the Neckar via Dilsberg to Neckarsteinach and then along the right side back to Neckargemünd.
Although this is just a short part of the Neckar, I saw at least three other old buildings. Often they looked like the one in extra number three. That is Burg Schadeck, also called Burg Schwalbennest. The next extra shows the castle inside the walls. I didn't climb those stairs. I expected to see something like in extra number five.
Extra five shows the ruin of Hinterburg (also called Alt-Schadeck), pictured from the tower. The burg was built in the early years of the 12th century.
Extra number six, also taken from the Hinterburg tower, shows the loop in the river Neckar around Dilsberg. This location of Dilsberg made it quite important for the control of the area/region. Nowadays it can be visited to have a magnificent view over the Neckar and the Odenwald. (You can't see the Black Forrest from here, too far away.)

(I just noticed that I missed another ruin, Burg Reichenstein in Neckargemünd itself. I will have to go there again :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.