atseacliff

By atseacliff

Memories of the Argyll Arcade

I was over in Glasgow to catch up with an old friend who is in the same line of business as myself. Had a pleasant hour wondering around the city centre. Only had my point and shoot with me and the candidates for today's blip were the Donald Dewar statue or this shot of the Argyll Arcade.

I remember in the early '70's being driven over to Glasgow by my Mum and Dad each year to the Ideal Home Exhibition in the Kelvin Hall. Part of the day involved walking round the shops in the city centre. This Arcade was filled with upmarket and not so upmarket jewelers which seemed terribly exotic compared to most of what was going on in the grey world of the UK at that time. In one visit I vividly remember standing watching those lava lamps for ages in the window of one of the shops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.