Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Flowering Ivy covered in insects

I tried positivity today and walked much further than any recent walks.
The buzzing of the bees and hoverflies was so loud it was impossible to walk past this flowing ivy with out looking in detail. There were also wasps and many types of flies.

After lunch I tried some Time Travelling and watched Episode 1 (set in 1964) of Our Friends in the North which has been on BBC4 last week. I found it on iPlayer.  

It brings back memories of watching it when first shown in the 1990s. 

In the 1960s there were many trips to see relatives, Grandparents, Aunts and Uncles all on Tyneside. I remembering arriving at momentous moments like Harold Wilson winning Election, talk of The Likely Lads and The Animals ( my cousin knew Chas Chandler and Alan Price ). Uncle Jack always had the latest news for us when we arrived usually about T Dan Smith (the obvious inspiration for the Alun Armstrong’s character in Our Friends in the North) and what the Council was up to or Newcastle United’s latest exploits BUT also sometimes the first we knew of National news on the day we were travelling most memorable was hearing about the Aberfan  disaster.

Lost in a time warp, I have not quite made it back to 2022 yet.  I wonder what I will dream about tonight

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.