The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Woody Friday (23rd September 2022)

My mother was a keen gardener and would have liked me to share her interest. Unfortunately I was a sullen, universally-wronged teenager who never showed a shred of interest. I'd gone on to live at two or three addresses in the London area before arriving in Calne at a dilapidated property, The Old Forge, that was awarded council grants to be brought up to standard with a proper bathroom, and by 1992 when fully renovated a JCB had turned over the entire garden so that it was all soil, and I began designing a newly landscaped garden, which I was able to show to both my parents.

Sometime later my then neighbours installed some wind-chimes on a windy tree next door that were out of earshot from their house but which dominated my garden, and after awhile I found it impossible to go out there at all, due to my phonophobia and hyperacusis, and slowly everything I had achieved was lost to the impenetrable jungle that took over.

Years later, after the neighbours and wind-chimes were gone, and my parents had passed on, I was introduced to Hotdiggity Gardens in the form of Refna, who was given the job of restoring the Woodland Garden. This she did quickly and with great success, and we have been collaborating on evolving and reshaping the Garden ever since, her latest shift having been on this pleasant autumnal morning, preparing for the forthcoming winter. I photographed these petunias in the afternoon.

L.
Monday 26.9.2022 (1206 hr)

Blip #3736 (#3486 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2022 #172/265 + #075/100 Extras
Day #4566 (1087 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2878 (#2718 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Woodland Garden
Hotdiggity Gardens series
Flora series

Woodland Garden (August-September 2022) (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Taken with Pentax K-1 Mark II and Tokina 19-35mm f/3.5-4.5 AF 235 vintage full-frame lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Thee Oh Sees - Web (2015)
In my readings of a backlog of Mojo magazines I have reached June 2016. This also involves replaying the cover disc CDs, in this case The Next Projected Sound Of 2016, on which I found this from the San Francisco band Thee Oh Sees who seem to put out a new album every other week. It was a surprisingly familiar track, originally from their album Mutilator Defeated At Last. A live version was on another cover CD from Uncut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.