Lala's Journal

By Lala

Rain

Photo from Saturday, before the clouds emptied over us all! 

Today I learnt that there really is always someone worse off than you!
One of the ‘marsh widows’ messaged and asked if she could borrow two of my LC tickets for a visit later this week. We arranged to meet in Costa for a chat, and so I could hand them over. I hadn’t talked much with her before, so we made idle chat for a while before we hit on why we were now ‘friends’. She lost her fit, healthy, sporty husband 4 years ago, when he was 55. He felt unwell and two days later died of sepsis. All of us have a horror story, but oh the shock! 6 months later, on Christmas Eve, her mother too passed away, albeit at the age of 86 and with dementia. 18 months ago, in February before lockdown, her three year old granddaughter died. Now tell me that life is fair! I don’t usually talk about my beliefs, but I am so grateful to be atheist. We both struggled to hold our emotions together in a public place, failing miserably. But, I did feel that although I couldn’t possibly understand such a terrible grief, it helped us both to share. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.