Therapy ….

Today’s Mono Monday challenge takes me out of my comfort zone on so many levels. 

My initial plan is to subject poor G to sitting for a portrait. Whilst I’m relatively happy at casual portraits, photographing family etc, formal portraiture is something else entirely. I’ve stated in my profile bio that one of my real loves is portrait photography - but that’s when I’m travelling, and once again, the key for me is catching  a natural and unposed shot. This is something else entirely. 

The alternative is a selfie - and I don’t do selfies. Like many of us on blip, I suspect, I’ve always been happier behind the camera than in front. Photos of me with my boys as they were growing up are few and far between, and it wasn’t really until I retired, lost weight and spent hours in the gym that I gained sufficient confidence to actually want to have my photo taken. The last four years of medical issues have gradually eroded some of that, and I find I’m slipping backwards. I’m just about OK in group shots, or with G, but on my own ……..

So taking a ‘self portrait’ today is definitely a challenge - especially a no make-up shot as I rarely wear any these days. I intend to use my camera, I really do, but I just don’t have the energy to get the tripod out etc. And I manage to take a few shots of G before he leaves for orchestra tonight - though my use of lighting is a little OTT - unless, that is, you’re aiming for a Bohemian Rhapsody  album cover look. 

So here it is, my effort at a portrait using light, with an extra of my wonderful, ever patient G. I’m treating the whole project as therapy….. 

Thanks to Anniebelle for hosting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.