Some Days

By Euphemist

I Nearly Caught a Fish...

...and it was this big!

It seems that males of every species tell stories about the one that got away.

A really tall story. (See water ON a ducks back!)

These lovely ducks haven't got a clue about feeding themselves and have obviously escaped from a garden, I'd guess somewhere near the pond at Archerfield, East Lothian.

We don't have any duck food so threw some bread at them to help them get through the weekend. They were famished, coming straight towards us for the food, unlike every other thing on the pond; geese, coots, wild mallards, frogs and toads which make a beeline away from us.

It is nice to have some pet ducks for a while, but I worry that they will not cope with the predators in the area (not all four legged!)

A couple of days ago, when they first arrived I got some photos of them in the sun, lying by a clump of daffodils. I was going to call it Daffy Ducks. I blipped the goslings instead, thinking I can always get the daffy ducks another time. They no longer go anywhere near the daffodils. Carpe anates, eh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.