Melisseus

By Melisseus

As Ye Sow

The season of abundance. I have pictures of an orchard shed full of apples, a house overflowing with pears, hazelnuts, damsons, walnuts and more. The garden vibrant with red berries. The garden bramley still groaning, despite the mountains we have given away

Cold rain and blustery wind. The briefest of sunny intervals allowed me to capture a picture so misleadingly balmy. A vine that was literally thrown on a skip when we had some alterations to the house. Rescued and unceremoniously tossed in a bucket. Faint signs of life got it transferred to a pot for a couple of years and it was then planted in the shallowest of soil over hardcore, beside the oil tank and wheelie bins. This is its second summer, and this bunch cheers us through the kitchen window as a reward for washing up

My newspaper tells me I am (at some time decided by others) to be faced with the choice between 'a broad social vision to chart a way forward' or 'desiccated faith in the ruthless pursuit of self-interest', though it probably won't say that on the ballot paper. I'll pour a glass of red and think about it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.