Mixed herd

A sunny September day and a ploughing match at Congleton. Perfect.  Drove for an hour or so, got lost, eventually found it, trudged past hundreds of cars in the carpark, paid 20 quid, walked through acres of trade stands selling big farming machinery, got to the massive acres where the tractors were ploughing and asked where the horses were. No horses. How can they have a ploughing competition with no horses? Who wants to see tractors doing the job? Oh, people from those hundreds of cars! But not me. The ad said there would be horses so I quivered my bottom lip as I made my way back through the gate and stopped by one of the organisers. I got my 20 quid back but no blip of fine Shire horses working the land.
As I drove away from the site, I spotted a HUGE mixed herd and pulled over. Cows can't resist a closer look. Impossible to count, even when I tried to count the legs and divide by four. Suffice to say, it was the biggest herd I've ever seen. 
Spent the afternoon chopping wood. I feel better now. 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.