Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Nymph and faun

This sculpture is in the Chambers Street Museum of Scotland and it was designed and modelled by Charles Hodge Mackie and cast by Charles Henshaw and Sons Ltd in Edinburgh in 1914.

It was originally the fountain centrepiece of a garden pond in Murrrayfield, Edinburgh. Mackie was foremost a printmaker and painter but JJ Cowan who commissioned the work was a friend and keen collector of his work which explains why he chose Mackie. This is Mackie's main claim to fame as a sculptor.

I took this photo during the first meeting of a photography course which I've joined. I arrived an hour after everyone else as I wasn't sent an email which gave details of the meeting. Still, I had time to try to take pictures of this statue which is pretty difficult to photograph, which I think was partly the point of the exercise. It works much better in 3D. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.