Late Summer

After yesterday’s wind and rain, today’s sunshine - albeit intermittent- is very welcome. It seems many fellow blippers have also been struggling with the colder weather - and we share the same reluctance to turn on the heating! I think here we’ve always tried to hold off until at least the start of October as a matter of principle, but this year of course we have other reasons to conserve energy! And it’s not as if it’s getting any better. I don’t think I’ve ever felt such incandescent anger at the actions of our government … 

Still, back to today! 

The afternoon brings another appointment at the breast clinic - results only today. No malignancy - as predicted, but still good to know - but the quest for a diagnosis goes on. Next - a bone scan, and a review of all my previous biopsies for some weird and wonderful diseases. This consultant seems to have a genuine interest in my case and confirms at least that all my symptoms are connected. I’ll see him again in a few weeks. 

So then it’s time for Bodnant and the final late opening visit of the year. My plan is for a shot that captures the start of autumn colour - and it’s certainly  there within the grove of maples. But by now the sun has gone, and without sunlight the colours just don’t sing. 

But on the terraces, the skies clear leaving majestic cloudscapes floating in deep blue, reflected perfectly in the lily ponds - summer’s last hurrah, and my late summer blip. 

In extras, there’s a collage of some autumnal closeups, and a quick shot of a plane bizarrely flying very low along the Conwy Valley as we drive home. 

Thanks to Steveng for hosting Wide Wednesday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.