airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

Daisy , daisy ....

For some reason , after dropping Mr H off at a meeting in Cullingworth, I decided to drive up to Denholme and have a look at my 3x and 2x great grandfather's ( and associated grandmother's, aunts etc.) in the graveyard there. The church has the most wonderful views across the valley, but the light wasn't doing much for it tonight, so I took a couple of shots of various stone work on the graves. Strange really but there are some fairly ornate ones yet Abram (3xg grandfather) and John (2x G grandfather) are fairly plain. Not odd unless you happen to know they were both quarry men and stome masons! I often wonder of they created some of the others and not their own! It is a small but well kept grave yard forming the grounds of an Independant Chapel. What struck me tonight was this wonderful daisy cross on one of the graves. I did take a metal note of whose grave it was, but sadly by the time I got home I couldn't remember, and I can't read it from the photo! Not sure if that is a sign of old age or a long day at work!

Who ever the grave belongs to, some one clearly cares enough to do this. Wonderful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.