A productive day

This beautiful quilt was handmade by my talented neighbour friend Janice especially for CoDA* - the local group of expats I've mentioned before, who work to improve the lot of the local street animals and those in the council shelter. Janice's specially made quilt will be used at the next fund raising event on Sunday, as a raffle prize, where some lucky person will get a unique, beautifully crafted bed or lap quilt for the price of a beer.  I've also been encouraging friends to bring potential tombola prizes back from the UK for the last couple of months - and indeed brought quite a few items myself after my recent sojourn to Blighty. Cadbury's chocolate, and, well, any typically Britsh sweet or savoury treats that we all take for granted until they're no longer available...... Also in my collection of fund raising items are the jars of pickle and jam made by John.  Sadly, it's their last day today, as they return to Scotland tonight. I'll miss their company, lemon curd, pancakes and pickles - till next Spring time. Thank you to all my friends and neighbours who have donated.

Walking the dogs at the shelter last Spring upset me too much to continue, but there are other ways, such as fund raising, in which I can help. Talking of which, I was finally able to catch the last two of the sick kittens and Bev and Nigel drove us to the vet in Akbuk, who pronounced one of Lillyanna's babies, Leonie, to be well enough to come home. Good news. Once Lillyanna saw her, she went straight in to mummy mode with washing and playing with her first born. Delightful to watch. 

A very warm sunny day, Viv and I braved the pool but briefly as the water was rather 'bracing' (euphemism for 'bxxxxx cold'). The day ended with having to say ttfn to neighbours Janice (quilt maker) and John (pickles, pancakes and jam maker) and their friends, who've been here for weeks and will be missed. I did think about confiscating their passports to prevent them leaving.....


*CoDA = Care of Didim Animals (including the council run animal shelter)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.