Reg Davies painting reveals Maigret link?

I've recently finished watching the entire run of Maigret, the original early 1960s series starring Rupert Davies. Throughout the whole series, I had a nagging feeling I knew the lead actor, who was a Scouser, but I couldn't put my finger on it. Then it hit me. 

Rupert might be related to Reg Davies, who was Master of the College Residence I lived in while at university. He and I had a couple of run ins (primarily because I was 18 and away from home for the first time), and so I had numerous opportunities to sit and have a sherry with him and listen to how I might improve my chances of not being required to leave the university  several years before graduation.

Thankfully he was patient and gentle - so I escaped. And so did the ducks, as the duck pond in the residence no longer became a place for singing Nessun Dorma or other drunken revelry on the way home at 3am.

The relation between the two men remains something of a conjecture. How can one go about finding if it is true? Google has proven useless. Both men are dead. Does anyone have any ideas (or better sleuthing abilities than me)? Extra is of Rupert.

There's something about the nose...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.