No Words

I'm trying to find words to describe the destruction in southwest Florida. Having survived Hurricane Andrew back in '92, I find it emotionally painful to view the destruction of property and lives Ian has left behind. The Hurricane is headed up the eastern coast of Florida and after flooding parts of Orlando, Jacksonville and St. Augustine and is predicted to make landfall further north. Most likely Ian will come ashore along South Carolina's coast. 
Gainesville was so very fortunate to have 'dodged' this terrible bullet for the most part. In our neighborhood there was some tree damage with debris everywhere. But that's easy to clean up. Today I'm sharing some survivors I spotted in the yard this morning. Three Paper Wasps guarding their nest. Look closely to see their larvae and pupae. They had built their nest on the underside of a palm front which blew down last night. I was about to put it into a trash can when I spotted these ferocious defenders. I relocated the nest in a dry/protected spot. Be Safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.