Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Another Speckled Wood

Firstly, an update on my 'Angel Wing Syndrome' blip of a few days ago:
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3020133294671924642
I posted the same images on two facebook pages - a local group and a wildlife group.  A fisherman reported that it could fly better than I thought as he said it flew over for food when he was gutting fish.  What surprised me was the number of people who wanted to 'save it'.  Only problem with that is that rescue centres aren't taking in birds at the moment because of bird 'flu'.  To me, it seems to be doing OK as it is though I doubt if it will be fit enough to find a mate and rear young but that would also be true if it was taken into captivity.  I say let it be.  My reason for posting was to raise awareness of the syndrome and its presumed cause.

Today I saw two species of butterfly on the wing. A couple of small whites (in my garden) and this speckled wood, Pararge aegeria, between some woodland and a meadow.  The speckled wood can be seen on the wing when it is too cold for other species to be up and about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.