The Lindisfarne Gospels

I went to the Laing Art Gallery in Newcastle today to see the Lindisfarne Gospels. I was very interested in the celtic imagery used . The intricate patterns,  weird animals and the complexity of each vellum page was amazing. When you went in there was a film about the subject and the screen filled two huge walls. The visuals were very impressive but the audio was indistinct and I had to get  guide to read along so I could understand.  Once the text had been read then I could make out the words. 
The next room housed a lot the Gospels and a lot of other books, also parts of stone celtic crosses and jewellery associated with early Christianity. This was standard, static things in glass cases with a board next to them. The Gospels were housed in a case at the end of the room. They were open at about a 45 degree angle but you couldn't see the outside of the book. I have heard it is encrusted with jewels but even on my hands and knees I couldn't discern this. There was not even a photo of the outside. The lighting was poor. To read or look at anything your own deep shadow fell across the object.  Obviously light levels were low but this seemed avoidable. Having said all that I enjoyed it .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.