Walking iris

The walking iris, a member of the trimezia genus in the iridaceae family, is native to Brazil. I've blipped previously two members of the dietes genus, in the same family, which bloom and die all year round but unlike its cousins, the walking iris has a brief flowering period in spring ie now, at least around here. Today might have been my last chance but I didn't like my chances as again it's been windy and raining, ideal conditions for trashing flowers. I picked and brought home two, their white petals totally drooping like those flop eared rabbits, then given a little time in a sheltered environment, they perked up, so I got one to pose for my blip.

To me the walking iris looks exotic, partly because it's a short lived pleasure, but also because of its central features of brown and deep purple patterning.

Have a great weekend all. Ours will again be sodden. 

Thanks for hosting BikerBear. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.