Northern Exposure

By Northern

Hogboon

Ever fall out of love with a project? This wee chap and me have been fighting with each other for nearly a year. I’ve been making folklore inspired marionettes using needle felting and decided to try my hand at doing a poseable figure. He’s a Hogboon, a character from Orkney folklore. Some are sinister but many stories have them as a sort of mischievous guardian of the house who are kind and helpful as long as you remember to leave out some food and drink for him. I set out to make him slightly creepy but discovered that I found him quite disturbing compared to the puppets. I know many people find those creepy but there was something about the way he just sat there and looked at me that freaked me out in way that puppets don’t. I think that was why he took me so long to complete. It wasn’t until I decided to make him a book to read that he suddenly seemed to have purpose, somehow he then seemed happy. So, he’s now off to live in the Orkney library where I know he will have plenty to read, good company…. and there are always biscuit in the staff room.

If you want to know more about hogboons http://www.orkneyjar.com/folklore/hogboon/hogboon3.htm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.