P3dro

By P3dro

See Monster

I had planned on going up to Scotland this weekend, but, well, life. And then I saw this had opened in Weston Super Mare, so I confused the car by pointing it south.

A horrendous journey, although the rain had more or less eased off by the time I arrived.

I wasn’t actually planning on going up tonight, but the guys at the door said it would be really busy tomorrow and if I went up now, I’d have the place pretty much to myself. And anyway, “it’s better in the dark, they said”. Glad I did, even though I’m not good at heights. I had to draw the line at going to the helipad at the very top.

It’s a retired North Sea platform, dragged into Weston on a massive barge and is now one of the UK’s largest public art installations (it’s way bigger then the Angel of the North). It’s aim is to inspire conversations about reuse, renewables and, indeed the weather.

It’s not open for very long - until 5 November - so I doubt I would have had another chance anyway.

An absolute 10/10.

https://seemonster.co.uk/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.