Here and Now

By Mole

Friday Fun Day

Should be posted on 9/30 but accidentally posted 9/29 there...


I walked Lakefront Reservation East with RS from the E. 72nd Street Pier to the E 55th Street Pier on a gorgeous day. (Extra) Spoke with everyone fishing and met some cheerful CMP pier attendants. Saw a few wildflowers, a large buck, runners, bicyclists, and walkers. Lots of boats and sails out on Lake Erie in the sunshine.

Since I was close, I went to Raddell's Sausage Shop at the corner of the street where my mom was born and grew up in Collinwood. Took a picture of her house. When we were young, she bought meat there (when it was Strumbel and Raddell’s) and I think it was delivered sometimes. I bought a few things including all beef hotdogs, a baseball cap for my brother, and a book Slovenians in Cleveland, A History by Alan F. Dutka. When I explained that I don’t eat meat or cheese, the guys behind the counter tried to sell me pierogis, of all things! I had a vegan toast lunch at Pop Culture on Waterloo instead.

My lucky day. Down the street I met photographer Matt Shiffler in his gallery which is rarely open. I fell in love with his work while on display while I had several weekly treatments at University Hospital a couple of years ago. He’s holding a copy of one of my favorite photos, on metal, that I will probably buy. It depicts an ancient fishing method with cormorants. www.mattshifflerphotography.com

When I arrived home, Mr. Mole and SR were putting the finishing touches on a newly planted 8’ white dogwood that weighed about 400 pounds. Those "boys"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.