Grey Heron

Firstly, thank you for all the lovely comments hearts and stars for my 11 year blip. I knew it was approaching but it still took me by surprise! 

Today the young one flew over to the grass to meet me. I am convinced she knows she will get a good feed before flying back and sharing with the older female. I notice she is getting much whiter on her head. Soon I will not be able to tell her apart from the other herons (the fact that she is the one who gets closest will always distinguish her). After feeding the two females I made my way round towards the clearing. About halfway round, I could see a woman tring to take a shot of a heron which was at the edge of the loch slightly obscured by the branches of a tree. As I approached it moved well into view and I started feeding it. A few minutes later two of younger ones landed looking for a feed, I think one of them was the young male the other and the adult were new to me  (the woman couldn't believe it and was snapping away on her phone). I was nearly out of fish so made my way round to where the adult male hangs out and gave him the last of the fish.
This afternoon it was just the adult male and the young male. I fed adult and went to where the young male hangs and was able to give it a good feed for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.