Moving on

Our ferry ride from Doune to Mallaig was indeed choppy but fun and no-one felt sea-sick which was a bonus. I mainly stared at Eigg - so much so the shape is imprinted on my mind. 

It felt strange saying good-bye to every one- people we'd never met before but had spent good times with. 

This was done in stages- at the jerry in Doune, at the pontoon in Mallaig, in the car-park area at Mallaig and finally in Fort William- we have B & J lift as the trains were on strike. They were then planning on hiking to Rannoch Moor.

We are now in Ballachulish with views of Loch I even & the Pap of Glencoe with rather fine gin awaiting us in our room.

Low level walks are planned for tomorrow including the remains of the slate quarry where my ancestors worked. 

A fine start to my next decade. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.