Misty Autumn Morning

I was excited to be photographing mist because it's such a rare occurrence for here. I think maybe a sudden drop in temperature overnight meant the air was colder than the lake, but I'm not sure how it works.

Before going out the mist was quite dense, but the rising sun must have burnt away most of it. When I arrived there was wispy bits on the surface which was dead calm and the trees opposite were mirrored in the water. Then a big bank of mist wafted across and before long it was back to dense fog. I caught it half way in this image.

I found the file quite difficult to process. Each quadrant seemed to need a different adjustment to get the tones to balance. I think partly because the blues are so intense and the reeds so dark. I'm happy with the outcome though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.