CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A young peace lily flowering in the cabin

I’ve had several peace lilies over many years at different times and places. I took a cutting a couple of years ago from a rather leggy old plant, which seemed to have stopped flowering, and have kept both of them. I moved them to our garden cabin which is very light but I can place them out of any direct sunlight which is what they prefer, and need. Direct light burns their leaves rather badly.

After the hot and very dry summer I decided to put all the cabin plants out in the rainy days when it was also overcast. then i forgot and the sun hit them rather hard before i noticed. Last week I brought the lilies back into the cabin and found them a new spot. The rain did wonders for them and they seemed to appreciate not being given drinks the very limey tapwater (we live in the heart of a carboniferous limestone region of England called the Cotswolds).

Today I sat on the sofa in the cabin having a cup of tea and had my camera nearby just in case any interesting birds came to the sunflower feeder which I could see on the patio a few yards away. Then I noticed the peace lily had just produced a new flower, so I had to blip it. The parent plant is in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.