My Restless Lens

By terri365

Hoverfly

I was sitting in the garden playing with Geriatric Boy and the Erysimum was alive with hoverflies, carder bees and teeny black/gold hoverflies (see extra).  They were so teeny, I was having trouble getting them in flight!

I think Geriatric Boy needs more food.  His behaviour is changing and I think it's because he is hungry.  Last week, he devoured 2 cartons of oat milk.  When I went out yesterday I made sure there was nothing he could get.  When I came back 4 hours later the contents of the bin were strewn across the Kitchen and Living Room.  Thankfully just empty food packaging.

This morning, copious amounts of muck was consumed (can cause blockages) and then he disappeared and by the time I tracked him down he had eaten a few mouthfuls of horse poo (can be toxic for dogs)!!!  He has become such a scavenger!

My vet hasn't given me any ideas on how to sate his hunger so upon consultation with my daughter, we agreed that giving him extra food was the best course of action.  He might put on a bit of weight but we agreed that that would be better than a trip the vet because of a blockage or toxic poo!

Or I walk him on the lead...  but I don't think either me or Geriatric Boy would be happy with that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.