The ancient power of green

Today we visited an excellent exhibition at Aden Country Park Museum ( alas for one day only) of embroidered banners based on the illustrations from the 9th century Book of Deer. This was written by monks at the Monastery of Deer which was located in the vicinity of Aden. The monks added doodles and jottings in Gaelic to their work. They are thought to have worked outside where the light was better.
The main picture is based on a obird doodle and the extra on depictions of the four evangelists.

This jotting particularly appealed " Over my lined book the trilling of the bird sings to me. A clear voiced cuckoo sings to me in a green cloak of bush tops. The Lord be good to me on Judgement Day! I write well under the woodland trees'.

Could the bird in the banner be the clear voiced cuckoo?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.