kevinmcc

By kevinmcc

if I only had a brain...

Tandy holds a model of the brain, as we waited for the doctor to come in and take a look at her head. She has recovered quite well since March when she had to have emergency surgery to relieve fluid buildup in the brain.

Today's visit involved getting a CAT scan, followed by a consultation. Everything is fine, but they will continue to follow up with additional scans for the next couple of months.

We have learned some interesting things along the way, such as the fact that the brain starts to shrink as we grow older, which means there is more room for the brain to move around inside the skull.

Probably the most interesting thing we learned is the neurosurgeon's advice about NOT riding extreme amusement park rides because of the possibility of brain damage due to the brain being jostled around inside the skull during the ride.

The LAST extreme ride I went on was the "Ali Baba" back in 2010, and I think the only thing that kept me from getting sick was that my attention was focused on running the camera. That "sick" feeling stuck with me until the next day. No dinner for me that night.

Go have a look, if you have a strong stomach. Best experienced by watching the video in full screen mode :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.