antipodean

By antipodean

The Kooks

Once again, many feelings will be expressed in this post so fair warning!

Tonight I once again found myself down at the Palais for a gig, this time to see The Kooks with Julia. I've been a fan since I was about 16 or 17 but through terrible chance and bad timing I've never managed to see them, so this was quite a big deal for me! They were really awesome, and they played a lot of old songs (to the disappointment of one of the girls behind me - there were a lot of people there who seemed a lot younger than us and who were there for the new album, not the previous two) and there were some awesome moments, like screaming out the words to Naive or when they played Tick of Time, my all time favourite Kooks song ever.

Even though it was awesome night, I think Tegan & Sara was the better gig - we had better seats, the crowd was better and we could understand what they were saying (I don't know what it is about a Brighton accent, but we couldn't understand a thing the lead singer said to us). I love seeing live music, and despite being a bit pricey Melbourne is awesome for gigs so it's been really nice seeing two of my favourite bands this week!

Once again a terrible photo. I took my little camera, but we were so far away that it didn't make a lot of difference to the quality! I picked this one because you can see the band fairly clearly. There was another sort of artsy one of the back of people's heads silhouetted against the lights, but in the end this one won out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.