samsticks

By samsticks

Be Free

Today I was gifted something that I very rarely get the luxury of: Time.

Gina was out for the day, and Sue, my mother-in-law, agreed to look after Miles all day. After polishing off some work first thing, I did a bit of photo tweaking as Gina had been through some of my photos of Miles for our walls, but a few could use a little boost. I then went to 15 pounds for a coffee and a muffin, stopping off at the newsagents on the way to pick up a photography magazine. I don't normally buy magazines, but seeing as I was feeling all indulgent, I thought "why not!". Just before I wandered in, I noticed this little girl on the side of the building. Someone had given her a succulent to water (with paint..). It's hard to live in Melbourne and not be blown away by the amazing street art, but I loved the innocence and simplicity of this one. The message "Be Free" also resonated with me particularly strongly today: I had no worries for Miles, no immediate pressure from work, no expectations from anyone or anything. Even my blip was now sorted. Today was mine to do what I pleased with it. I sat for an hour and a half and just read. I honestly can't remember the last time that I had the time to do that. Glorious.

I then did some much-needed bike maintanence and had a leisurely cycle into town to get Gina's photos printed. I then went to a couple of camera shops to find out a bit about what's going on in the camera world (I really love my Olympus, but high ISO noise is starting to get me down - I was recommended a Canon D60, if anyone's interested...). Not going to buy soon, but food for thought.

Then home, lovely dancing round the kitchen with Miles, Gina and Sue before he went to bed. I'm just about to head off with the drums to our new rehearsal space. Maybe we'll have a jam, maybe we'll just go to the pub. Either way, the drums will have found a new home (where I'll be able to play them!), and beers will be consumed.

Have a great Saturday in Blipland everyone. See you on the Blipside (see what I did there?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.