Fixing the Flag Problem!

I had some thoughts about the flag problem I had on Saturday, one of them is not to go so fast!!!!
I thought that if I keep the same system, but move it to behind the top-box, it would stop the uprights being able to bend backwards.
When I lock the top-box lid it also locks the whole box to the carrier it sits on and that is bolted to the luggage rack, so it is very secure.
I used strong cable ties to fix the cross tubing to the luggage rack but also needed something to hold it against the box, or it would tend to fall forward when stationery. I found a couple of cupboard handles which I bolted to each side of the box, and used a very sticky, black, gasket sealant on the bolts. This will stop them working loose. I then used a strong bungee to hold the poles up.
I'm awaiting the arrival of new stainless-steel rods, 1m x 8mm, which I can drill a couple of holes into for rings that will hold the flags.
Should be a much safer set-up than what I previously had!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.