Treasure

Not the fake pearls, they are a relatively cheap fashion accessory I get a lot of use out of. The box however is unique and has a story.

Around the turn of the millennium, The Late Mate was asked to make some corporate gifts for a local businessman. I took an interest as he was also a customer of ours. TLM set about designing a small box suitable as a gift for a man or a woman. He needed 10 and made 12, each one different in the choice of wood and veneer inlay.

It was my suggestion that the inlay ran at an angle and then changed direction when it turned the corner. 

All this was going on around the time we'd got digital cameras and I was busy photographing necklaces and printing out little bi-fold leaflets to personalise each one that I had made. I did the same for each of these numbered boxes complete with a photo and item number, describing the wood that had been used.
.
When they were all completed it was noticed that this one had a slight warp in the lid. It can happen on wood not supported by a frame and I've known other pieces of elm to move. Anyhow, it was given to me and, 20 years on, it's no worse! I use it for my necklaces. The inside has a little tray and is lined with nubuck. That was probably my idea as well as it looks like offcuts from our shopfitting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.