Cowboy

I have an upcoming week off, which is long overdue, and less time than I wish I had. The plan is to meet the family in Portugal, so they can also get a holiday, and on this visit to Europe I will have to forego making it to the UK as well.

The family sorted their travel plans a while ago but I’ve been on tenterhooks for weeks whilst my leave was finally agreed. I fear that working in Tanzania will sometimes involve a struggle to utilise one’s contractually agreed benefits, such as annual leave.

I have been deliberating over the cost of the hotel where the rest of the family were to be lodged as part of their package deal. I couldn’t get the same rate as unfortunately there aren’t any TUI deals departing Dar es Salaam for the Algarve. I procrastinated on booking and decided to wing it on the morning of arrival. My sister called me a cowboy. I prefer the term renegade.

There were some interesting-looking cosmic light formations as the plane left Dar es Salaam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.